Donald Trump nominated for Nobel Peace Prize along with Pope Francis, Edward Snowden

The billionaire businessman and 2016 Republican presidential candidate was nominated for the award along with people like Pope Francis and Edward Snowden, The Independent reported.

Donald Trump nominated for Nobel Peace Prize along with Pope Francis, Edward Snowden

According to a Nobel watcher Kristian Berg Harpviken, Trump's unidentified nominator highlighted "his vigorous peace through strength ideology, used as a threat weapon of deterrence against radical Islam, Isis, nuclear Iran and Communist China," as a reason for nominating him.

Only qualified nominators can propose candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize, according to the Nobel Prize website. Those nominators must come from one of the following categories:
  • Members of national assemblies and governments of states
  • Members of international courts
  • University rectors; professors of social sciences, history, philosophy, law and theology; directors of peace research institutes and foreign policy institutes
  • Previous Nobel Peace Prize winners
  • Board members of organizations that have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize
  • Active and former members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee
  • Former advisers to the Norwegian Nobel Committee

Trump, who finished second to Ted Cruz in Monday's Iowa caucus, has made controversial statements throughout the 2016 campaign, including a call to ban Muslims from entering the United States. He has been condemned for comments about immigrants and women, and has left a steady stream of insults on Twitter, as documented by The New York Times.

Other high profile nominees for the 2016 award include Colombian peace negotiators, U.S. Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz, head of Iran's Atomic Energy Organization Ali Akbar Salehi and a former ISIS sex slave who now advocates for people abused by the group, according to CBS News.

Harpviken did not think Trump was a candidate that had a chance of winning the prize. The Nobel committee usually receives more than 200 nominations, and an extensive review process takes place between March and August to determine which candidates are viable before the official vote in October.

Last year, a Tunisian democracy group won the prize, and in 2014 it was awarded to Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi.

Source : Syracuse
Copyright © 2018 TrendsAround • All Rights Reserved. Contact for more information.
Template Design by BTDesigner • Powered by Blogger
back to top