FCPS students pick up regional Scholastic Writing Awards

Students at 22 Fairfax County Public Schools won regional awards in the 2016 Scholastic Writing Awards Competition.

 FCPS students pick up regional Scholastic Writing Awards

Fairfax students won 26 regional Gold Key awards, 51 Silver Key awards and 66 honorable-mention awards.

Gold Key winners from schools in the Sun Gazette coverage area included Mei Baek of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology for flash fiction; Akash Bansal of Thomas Jefferson for personal essay-memoir; Zara Batalvi of Thomas Jefferson, four Gold Key awards for poetry; Emma Choi of George C. Marshall High School, two Gold Keys for poetry and two Gold Keys for short story; Olivia Dabich of Marshall for writing portfolio; Ross Dempsey of Thomas Jefferson for journalism; Aline Dolinh of Oakton High School for writing portfolio and poetry; Joyce Hong of Thomas Jefferson for science fiction-fantasy; Christopher Morris of Thomas Jefferson for journalism; Marriya Schwarz of Oakton for critical essay and dramatic script; and Matthew Sun of Thomas Jefferson for personal essay-memoir.

Works by Benson and Choi have been nominated for national American Voices Awards.
(A complete list of award recipients from Fairfax’s public schools can be found at http://commweb.fcps.edu/newsreleases/newsrelease.cfm?newsid=2914.)

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards is a 93-year old program of the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers. Winners will be honored at a special ceremony in March at the Gala Theater in Washington.
Recent Comments Widget
Copyright © 2016 TrendsAround • All Rights Reserved. Contact for more information.
Template Design by BTDesigner • Powered by Blogger
back to top